Colour Cards

British Standard 4800 Paint Colour Chart. This range includes additional colours that are mostly brighter to reflect the latest trends for public buildings and spaces. These paint colours are widely recognised throughout the UK and are often used to meet safety, legal or contractual requirements. BS4800 specifies colours of paint for building and construction works. This is a key reference for specifying a particular paint colour to use in the refurbishment of buildings – especially at Local Authority level or for major works, such as office blocks, airports, schools and hospitals. These paint colours are widely recognised throughout the UK and are often used to meet safety, legal or contractual requirements.

A very brief history of RAL Colours

There is a timeline for the RAL colour system and if we go by chronologically, we will understand its importance.

RAL Classic chart essentials

Initially, the German organization RAL invented around 40 colours in 1927. Before the introduction of the RAL Classic manufacturers and customers had no clear way to describe colours to each other and simply had to rely on exchanging the tints they wanted. The Classic system gave people a much easier way to exchange colour information. As tints keep developing, a lot of new ones were added and in 1961, it was revised to consist of 213 tints. To avoid the confusion of transposed digits the colours were given supplemental names. In the 1980s, a new variant of the RAL Classic was developed, called the RAL 841 GL for glossy surfaces and it was limited to 193 colours.

A brief overview of RAL Classic colour shades

The arrangement of RAL Classic shades

The RAL Classic colours come with a four-digit number and the letters RAL. The first digit is the system code for 9 classic shades, which are: 1 is yellow, 2 is orange, 3 is red, 4 is purple, 5 is blue, 6 is green, 7 is grey, 8 is brown, and 9 is white and black. Each of these shades has many other colours associated with it.

The Natural Color System, or ‘NCS’ in short, is a color system that is administrated by NCS Colour in Stockholm. On this website you find all NCS colors (2,052). The color system is based on the way humans perceive color. In the color experience of the human eye 4 elementary colors play an important role: red, yellow, green and blue. The NCS color system is used as a standard by architects, designers and manufacturers in various industries.

Trade Colour Cards

Exterior & Woodcare





Designer Paint – Colour Cards

Colour Card Order Form

    Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive offers, design tips and more!

    The colours shown on this web-site are for guidance only and will vary depending on monitor and browser type. Colours shown should not be taken as a representation of the true colours or finish of the products.
    In addition, the colours represented in the products available from this site may vary from the standard colour references (e.g. RAL, British Standard etc.) or from other products of the same colour designation. GC Johnson’s does not accept responsibility for any variation in colour or finish between product ranges and/or suppliers or from variations in colour or finish between or within batches of product from the same supplier nor for any unintended errors on the website/colour database.